What’s in my wardrobe?

April 14, 2010

Recently I was tagged by Ali to tell you what in my wardrobe I can’t do without.

Although I studied fashion for 3 years at the National Art School (East Sydney Tech) I don’t really enjoy shopping and lots of the other smoozy aspects of fashion. I have in the past wardrobe consulted and will probably do it again (for others outside the family). I may even write a ‘do it yourself’ tutorial later in the year. Let me know if you would like this.

I shop mostly at Op shops and other very standard places like Target and Kmart.

I try to only keep clothing I actually wear so I have a surprisingly small wardrobe, for someone with my background.

My favourite Abix Swirl T-shirt by harrysdesk

  1. Jeans: At the moment I do with two pairs. 1 black, 1 dark blue. (On the hunt for a new black pair… although not very diligently)
  2. Black T-shirts: I have about 2 weeks worth on rotation. I wear T-shirts all year round (and jeans too actually) I just put long sleeve T-shirts underneath. I do look at other coloured T-shirts when I shop, but for some reason I look like a clown in a most of them.
  3. Coloured Runners: I have red, fluorescent green and pink. This is the one area I give myself permission to spend. If they are interesting and comfortable (essential) I will find it hard to say no. Anyone seen a great purple pair anywhere? I would love some, but they are elusive.
  4. Cardigans: Presently a bit low on these at the moment (a little troubling, given the current change in weather) I have a favourite pistachio green woollen fine knit one. It has a permanent owl ‘Frita’ broach on it. The cardigans began when I moved from ‘out of the house’ work life to ‘being home with my girls’ mostly.
  5. Fabulous harrysdesk bag: Whenever I create a new style of bag I use it first. This way I can test it to see if there are any problems with it. This means that I can improve them as I go. And it means I get to use one and not just make them for others. When I am through testing and enjoying I pass them on to my girls, who lend them back to me if I need them.

My current harrysdesk handbag. I am really enjoying the shorter strap ( which I didn;t think I would.)

I also really enjoy my scarves, interesting necklaces, an few skirts with footless tights and my black docs.

I would love to live somewhere colder so that I could indulge my love of coats, or work somewhere public so that I could indulge my love of jackets. In the mean time I will indulge my love of flannelette PJ’s.

Here are the rules.

Title your post- Meme: Five things in my wardrobe that I wouldn’t be without. (Ooops!)

Tell us who linked you.

List your 5 wardrobe items.

Paste these rules at the bottom.

Tag 2 or 3 others to join in the fun!

Leave a Reply

