My first ever knit pattern for you.

September 10, 2010

A couple of weekends ago I knitted a scarf!
I attempted to use a pattern from ‘The Harmony Guide to Knitting Stitches. V1’, but wasn’t happy with how the reverse side looked. Not good when making a scarf where you see the reverse side as often as the right side. Due to excess chatting and not enough concentrating on what I was doing… I realised I had made a fortunate mistake. This mistake looked perfect on the reverse side. In fact, you cannot tell which side is the wrong and right. Just how I wanted it!
So I am sharing my discovery with you.
Enjoy.

The finished scarf

Using NO. 10 needles and 8-10 ply wool (not too precious about this) about 100g
Cast on 13 stitches.

Row 1: Purl
Row 2: Purl 2 together six times, Purl 1
Row 3: *Purl 1, pick up and purl the stitch between stitches (repeat from* to end) Purl 1

Repeat these three rows over and over until your scarf is the length you want.

Cast off.
Using a sewing needle finish ends of threads off.

2 Responses to “My first ever knit pattern for you.”

  1. Deanna said

    Can’t wait to try this pattern! I also dislike scarves that have a ‘right’ and ‘wrong’ side so this should be perfect…and so easy! Thanks, Ally.

Leave a comment