What’s so interesting about….. sashiko?

April 16, 2013

tumblr_m084a7BhID1qf0dx3

Image From Rebecca Koontz Artist’s blog.

860a18a5bd78eed0883a099388191a0f

Image from aux peptits oiseaux.

 

Sashiko is a Japanese embroidery technique that has it’s origins in mending.

Sashiko in Japanese means literally ‘little stabs.’

Traditionally done on navy Cotton/linen with white, ecru or cream thread, it is a simple running stitch used to create a pattern.

This week my students hand in their modern versions for marking, and I am really excited to see what they come up with.

Of course I cannot show you their work because that wouldn’t be the done thing, I thought I might show you some of the Sashiko I have collated on Pinterest.

Has anyone out there tried it?

Please let me know how you found it in the comments below, or tell me what theme you would like me to pin around for the next What’s so Pinteresting?.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

