Love Lace? You will.

March 11, 2012

One of the many works on display at the show. Image via the Powerhouse Museum.

Once again the Powerhouse Museum in Sydney has put together an amazing exhibition.

I saw it yesterday as part of my new job and thought I would love to go again…. but why go along when I can take you too.

The exhibition is entitled Make Lace Not War and it covers not only traditional textile lace (done in more predictable ways) but also very modern lace made with anything from metal to animation to paper  and all things in between….even human hair!

This show really challenges our lace ‘box’.

Student award winner Gwyllim Jahn's work. Image from Powerhouse Museum.

It is made up of spectacular works created in part for the international lace awards, but also includes a hands on experience in the Lace Study Centre. (a fixture in the Powerhouse which you may be unaware of).

We haven’t had a harrysdesk excursion for over a year, and I thought this was a great one to ‘get back on the horse with’ ….so to speak.

So I invite you all to join me in front of the Powerhouse Museum  at 10:30 on Tuesday the 20th of March and we will look through together. We will follow it up with a coffee together afterwards if you have the time. I will need to leave by 1pm to pick little people up from school…maybe you will too.

The show is free after admission to the Powerhouse.

Let me know if you can make it so I can look out for you.

4 Responses to “Love Lace? You will.”

  1. Kirsty said

    Looks good. I think I’ll be able to make it. Will fb you to confirm! Have you been to see the HSC works at the art gallery? Some very cool and beautiful fine work! Xo

  2. LIndie Ward said

    Hi Kirsty – I’ll be in the exhibition at 10.30 tomorrow and happy to answer any questions – LIndie Ward – Love Lace exhibition curator

Leave a Reply

