Bliss Bomb: Plumage

November 2, 2011

hd: Tell us a little about yourself….
ba: I really like drawing and writing and making creative things like jewellery. I also like looking at pretty and cute things. I like elephants and dogs most of all. I am one of a family of 6. I attend Dulwich High School of Visual Arts and Design and I am 13 years old.
  hd: Usually I ask …..What did you think you would be doing when you were in school?
ba: Well, seeing as I am still in school, the thing I most hope to be doing when I leave would be getting a job as a manga artist/graphic novelist. I also thought that I could go on an overseas trip to Japan when I am older to hang out with the artists there. I am learning Japanese and am at an art school, so I am happy with how things are heading.
hd: So how did you start making jewellery?
ba: My Mum is a creative person and I inherited her creative genes. My head keeps filling with ideas I just have to try….unfortunately some fail but there is always another one which pops up sooner or later.
hd: Tell us a bit about your product…
ba: Simple pretty friendship necklaces for older girls or sisters or Mother’s and daughters. I have made them so that when you are not wearing it you can display it on a special shelf to enjoy all the time rather than be hidden away in a jewellery box and forgotten about.
The bottles are vintage glass which have lasted this long so I am sure they will last a long time. The glass is quite thick. Inside is a tiny folded white origami bird and contrasting coloured seed beads. The other has a bird the same colour as the beads (in the other one) and clear beads…. look at the pictures and you will understand what I mean. Co-ordinating  bakers twine is used to hang the bottle around the neck.
Often you see friendship necklaces/bracelets for little girls but what I have made is a friendship necklace that is a bit more grown up that teenagers and adults are happy to wear.
hd: What a fabulous idea! Have you always loved jewellery? What is it about it that captured your attention and started you making?
ba: It’s kind of limitless. There are the ‘guidelines’ for example necklace, brooch, bracelet etc but really you are only limited by your imagination and by what someone is willing to wear.
hd: So, what did that first sale feel like?
ba: My first sale was to my Grandmother and the thoughts going around in my head were ‘Seriously? You are willing to buy this?’
hd: Of course the answer was yes and you have kept making beautiful things. What are you offering the harrysdesk readers?
ba: Anyone who purchases a necklace set (2 necklaces) at my etsy store PLUMAGE can use the code BLISSBOMB to purchase it for $20 (including postage to anywhere in the world). Normally this would be $30. Please be quick as I only have seven sets available ….at the moment. I don’t think I will be able to make any more before Christmas.
* if you make things and would like to offer something special to harrysdesk readers. Please email me.
One Response to “Bliss Bomb: Plumage”

  1. tim adeney said

    The necklaces look great. Tim

Leave a Reply

