Book Week All Week This Week…..and give-away

August 20, 2011

Our family's favourite LAY-brary.

Book Week is upon us again….and I am joyful about it this year, and organised. Everyday this week on harrysdesk I am going to blog about my favourite book type….those written and illustrated by the same person. I find this group of individuals particularly fascinating….. I hope you do too.

To start the week though, I thought I would canvas the family and find out the 5 fiction books that they have read/had read to them  this year that they have really liked and thought others might enjoy too. Nothing like a book recommendation I say! On that front, I am looking for your book recommendations to our family, and I am willing to give a prize (chosen randomly) for them.

Yes! a giveaway….. haven’t had one in a while, so it’s about time. A mini journal I think. ….and the winner can choose the colour.

Now don’t be shy, or too thoughtful (I know that stops lots of you from commenting). Anyone who comments on any post this week is eligible to win….so go ahead and tell me what you think and/or recommend at your leisure. Or anything really….. even if you don’t want one of my beautiful journals.

Our family favourites in the past year are as follows…. I mixed them up to protect the adults who read children’s books but basically they in reading/listening ability order. I’ve highlighted those which received multiple recommendations.

  • Twinkle by Nick Bland
  • The Saddest King by Christopher Wormell
  • The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak ….I talked about it here.
  • Belinda by Pamela Allen
  • I miss you my stinky face by Lisa McCourt
  • The Enchanted Wood by Enid Blyton
  • The Magic Wishing Chair By Enid Blyton
  • Geromino Stilton Series by Geronimo Stilton
  • EJ12 series by Susannah McFarlane
  • The Fleurville Trilogy by Countess de Segur
  • The Horrible Histories Series by Terry Deary
  • The Thornthwaite Inheritance by Garth P. Jones
  • The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place by Maryrose Wood
  • The Ramose series by Carole Wilkinson
  • The Phoenix Files by Chris Morphew
  • Grimdon by  Deborah Abela
  • Goodnight Mr Tom by  Michelle Magorian
  • The Rangers Apprentice Series by John Flanagan
  • The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
  • The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins (also a bookclub book)
  • Sixty Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm by the Grimm Brothers.
  • Stones’ Fall by Ian Pears
  • The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak (read for bookclub)
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (more on that later next month with bookclub)
  • Bonhoffer by Eric Metaxas

So read and read and read! …..and don’t forget to comment.

12 Responses to “Book Week All Week This Week…..and give-away”

  1. exciting!

    “A Little Princess” by Frances Hodgson Burnett was a great chapter book read with our five year old (boy!!) last year. It gave us lots of scope to think about what people are like.

    I really enjoyed “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society”. Surprisingly substantial. Definitely enjoyable.

    I’ll be reading the Bonhoeffer bio soon – thanks Tim!

    xxc

  2. jenny said

    We love the Nanny Piggins series by R. A. Spratt – a very naughty Nanny who lets the children do outrageous things. Often hear the kids (Boy, 13, Girl, 11 and Girl, 9) chuckling away to themselves in a corner.

  3. […] book parade over for another year. Sniff. Still time to add your comments to the book week giveaway. I will announce the winner soon. Don’t miss out! Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", […]

  4. Karen said

    Our family really enjoy picture books written and illustrated by Bob Graham. Lots of fun detail in the pictures.

    Another popular series are the Emily Rodda books – Rowan of Rin or Deltora Quest.

    We’ve just got started on the Phoenix Files – I see that someone in your family enjoys them too.

    • allysonadeney said

      Hey Karen,
      4 our of 6 of us have read the Phoenix Files that are written….so did Granni Jan and Fafa. Great books!
      The older girls and Tim have also enjoyed The Deltora and Rowan stories. The girl centred books she writes have not been as popular with us though. A bit….
      ….and yes Bob Graham is another classic Author Illustrator. There are so many good ones I could almost make it a monthly feature.
      Thanks for your feedback and recommendations.
      Ally

  5. Ali said

    Well, I just finished The Mayor of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy, but I don’t think I am going to recommend that. Predictable Hardy misery and people ruined by scandals in a world without grace. Next up in my book club is The Book Thief, so I am looking forward to that (if I actually get started and finished, which must happen soon) … I don’t know if I read it this year or last, but I did like The History of Love, by Nicole Krauss (and really enjoyed The Guernsey Literary …. too!).

    • allysonadeney said

      Thanks Ali,
      Will certainly need to get hold of the Guernsey Literary…. as it had a couple of you recommend this one.
      I’m sure you will enjoy The Book Thief.
      Ally

  6. Bec said

    I have found this post late in the day, but wanted to tell you that your words and pictures posts that follow have come at a good time for me. I am struggling to be motivated with an essay on just this subject for a Children’s Literature course at Uni. You have highlighted some of our (my kids and my) favourite books and authors. So tomorrow is that day to write! (lol, I think that should be tonight!)
    For book recommendations for grown ups I have enjoyed White Teeth by Zadie Smith, The Help by Kathryn Stockteon and Mr Pip by Lloyd Jones this year so far.
    I don’t comment much but really enjoy your little blog. Thanks.

    • allysonadeney said

      Thanks Bec,
      So glad I helped with essay motivation…..and thanks for the book recommendations. I have Mr Pip on my shelf…. but haven’t read it. Think I might go start now.
      Oh and you won the give-away. Congratulations.
      I will email you tomorrow.
      Ally

Leave a Reply

