5 books that changed who I am: a meme

May 27, 2011

The book Arch Image from TOBEDOIT via sparrows and arrows.

I loved this photo when I came across it. Like an archway (created by books) to a new place.

While we are on the topic of books…. I thought I would start a meme.
I haven’t done one in a while, and it might be an interesting topic for lots of bloggers….also for the blog readers!

So 5 books that changed who I am.* Not an exhaustive list (of course), but not a bad start.

  1.  Bible: the truth about Jesus and the life saving life He lead was/is made clear for me here. Without doubt the biggest change to me.
  2.  Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks: Completely changed how I thought about children and their relationships to their parents. I had some previously unchallenged, deeply held beliefs about value and worth and love…. which this book smashed. Always good. 
  3.  7 Habits of Highly Effective Families by Stephen R. Covey: An oldie but a goody. Not so much a parenting book but a life with family philosophy. Need to read this one again soon.
  4.  The Reader by Bernhard Schlink: Made me more aware of how a very real fear of something can lead to doing something even more fearful. I now often ask the question “What am I afraid of?”…or “What are they afraid of?” Really helpful.
  5.  Baby Wise by Gary Ezzo and Dr. Robert Bucknam: Some of you will find this a very controversial choice, I understand, but as this is not a list of the 5 most recommended books, but a list of books that changed who I am, so it needs to be included. When our oldest was about 3 months old, another mother (with a baby about the same age) asked me if I had read it. It was the only ‘conversation’ I had that night, because our baby was sooo unsettled. The other mother  had lots of conversations. Her little boy was sleeping. Ours slept when she wanted and Tim and I worked around her. It wasn’t really working. I read it. I used their sleeping techniques (as well as some others) throughout my 4 girls baby years. It changed who I am because, I can’t do sleepless. I think it made a difference to the number of children we had. Very good reason to include it…I think.

I am interested in the books that changed your life too.

I am tagging Ali, Nicole, Cath, Steph, and Susan, but would love to hear from harrysdesk readers as well.

* 5 books that changed who I am:

  • Tag between 3 and 5 people
  • link back to this post.
  • call the post ‘5 books that changed who I am’
  • enjoy.
7 Responses to “5 books that changed who I am: a meme”

  1. Susan said

    I enjoyed reading through your list, Geraldine Brooks’ ‘The Year of Wonders’ sounds great – it is good to keep re-thinking how we do our relating.
    Thanks for the tag.

    • allysonadeney said

      The year of wonders isn’t really ‘about’ parent child relationships…it’s about the plagues in London…. but the relationship issues it deals with in the narrative really shifted my heart to a warmer place.
      Ally .
      P.s If you read it let me know what you think.
      Ally

  2. Tom said

    Hi Ally,

    If you like that arch, you might like this….

    http://www.core77.com/blog/business/a_challenging_etsy_sell_giant-size_bookcase_reading_nook_19523.asp

    I’m disappointed that they don’t make an oval version for taller people 🙂

    • allysonadeney said

      Love It!
      Can see them all around a quirky local library. ….or even in a park with lockable book boxes (unlocked by card access)
      Thanks for passing it on.
      Ally

  3. Meredith said

    I’ve just posted my list of five. Great meme. Thanks for getting this one rolling.
    Mx

  4. […] Christmas holiday book was Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brookes (who is a favourite of mine) however with everything else going on I haven’t read it and didn’t make it to the […]

Leave a Reply

