Easter Baskets with a twist.

April 26, 2011

A flower tower near my front door.

I’m sure everyone has noticed the crazy rising prices of food lately, and because of recent flooding, is not likely to get better soon.

Although it feels like having food stored in the pantry/ cupboard is saving money, so often it is out of date or not quite the right thing when the time comes to use it.

After going through my pantry, I noticed that one of my big areas of waste is dried herbs and spices! I love cooking with them, so I am not going to give them up at this stage. But… I am going to reduce my dried supplies of herbs (most are out of date and tasteless anyway) and go for fresh ones, grown right outside the front door…. hopefully!

I have a particular love of cane baskets, but so do the cockroaches…ick… so I removed almost all of them from the house and put them outside in the garden…..all part of the mammoth de-clutter…. and upcycle them into something much more useful!

The school holidays was a great time to create these. 3 out of 4 of the girls love  to garden and had been chomping at the bit to do some….

Perfect.

We organised for Fafa (grandfather) can come and give them a hand. He made some herb baskets about 10 years ago and they are still going strong! And grandparent time over a project….

Perfect.

Herbs on call that I don’t have to pay for and taste even better than shop ones…

Perfecter.

   

     We did not keep them all …. in case you were wondering.

One flower basket and one herb basket were given to other families as easter presents.

Yay! Herb and flower baskets.

Now …. to keep them alive!

2 Responses to “Easter Baskets with a twist.”

  1. Sarah Kelly said

    They are gorgeous. Thanks for lovely brunch! We had a good trip home. :) See you again soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 559 other followers

