Book Club: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

February 7, 2011

image from goodreads.

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins was my choice for book club. It’s actually a trilogy (what book isn’t these days). It is also soon to be released as a movie… again, what isn’t lately.

I had heard it mentioned a number of times, then 12 year old was given it for her birthday.

The back cover reads like this….

Twenty-four are forced to enter. Only the winner survives. In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Each year, the districts are forced by the Capitol to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the Hunger Games, a brutal and terrifying fight to the death – televised for all of Panem to see.

Survival is second nature for sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who struggles to feed her mother and younger sister by secretly hunting and gathering beyond the fences of District 12. When Katniss steps in to take the place of her sister in the Hunger Games, she knows it may be her death sentence. If she is to survive, she must weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

WINNING WILL MAKE YOU FAMOUS. LOSING MEANS CERTAIN DEATH.

On reading this synopsis my mother hen instincts kicked in. A book about death, and children killing each other for the entertainment of others. I think I had better read this one first!

That the cover reviews were by Stephanie Meyers (Twilight Series) and Stephen King (of Horror Novel genre) didn’t fill me with any confidence about it’s content either.

So I read…. and I couldn’t put it down. And I gave it to 12 year old and 10 year old and even my lovely husband to read. Our family review was…Brilliant! Brilliant and Brilliant.

After the first one, I was a little apprehensive about reading the next. How do you follow that up?

But she does! Twice.

Image from The Age.

So how was Hunger Games recieved by the bookclub. Mixed from what I remember. It was a while ago now that we talked about it.

Some loved it as much as we did. Some had trouble with world in which the books take place and the genre.

It is a young adults book, and it needs to be read like that.

I won’t say anymore, because it will ruin it. It needs the chance to reveal it’s own story as you read.

Our next bookclub choice is Breathe by Tim Winton. I have never read a Winton book before, so I am looking forward to it.


7 Responses to “Book Club: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.”

  1. steve said

    omg march 23, 2012 cannot come soon enough I am dying to see The Hunger Games movie!! http://on.fb.me/gXrImz

  2. Sophie Norved said

    I recently re-read The Riders by Winton; a good one if you feel the need for something compelling after Breathe.

    • allysonadeney said

      Are you a Tim Winton fan Sophie?
      I have never read him before, so I think this was an unusual one to start with.
      I really enjoyed the writing, just was a bit content ‘ahhhh ok?’.
      Will review it soon, as we have now met to discuss it as a book club.
      I will look out for ‘The riders’

  3. Rebecca Roe said

    Hello im rebecca im 15 I live in tx the hunger games has amazed me I havent been able to put it down im on Mockingjay I have cried so much through this book its amazing I even take it to school with me my teacher got really worried when I burst into tears in the middle of class I screamed at my friends when they wouldnt let me finish reading I LOVE THIS BOOK she has done an amazing jobs with this book email me if youd like @rebeccaroe45@yahoo.com
    Sincerly Rebecca

    • allysonadeney said

      Thanks for commenting Rebecca,
      My 10 and 11 year old daughters have also read the trilogy, and we had many tears too. Books that can move you to tears are one of the best things in the world.
      Ally

  4. […] The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins (also a bookclub book) […]

Leave a Reply

