Challenge Day 4, 5 and 6

September 27, 2010

As promised , the next days of the kids clothes week challenge.

Using these two fabrics together with a few other bits and pieces….. a dress with rosette.

Debbie Mumm fabric

Close -up of op-shop crocheted singlet top.

A dress for 7 year old. The rosette is a brooch.

Rosette close-up.

Close-up of 4 year old dress with rosette brooch.

Upcycled dress for 4 year old made from a shirred skirt of mine. Really happy with this one. So easy! I think I might write a tutorial in the coming weeks so you can all make one.

Upcycling this skirt got me all excited to see what else I could change to be useful. I know I should of taken a photo of the before items, but I just didn’t. Sorry. These two op-shop pieces are pretty standard though. A collared shirt, and a tiered elastic waist skirt.

Here’s what I did with the shirt…..

Lovely square doilies.

A collared shirt I bought at the op-shop for myself. I do try every now and then to break the black t-shirt habit, but it wasn't to be. Nice little print though.

A skirt for 10 year old. Looks a lot better on a body. I will try and get some pictures in the holidays.

Close-up of pocket detail.

Rosette brooch. Yes! that is an old tape measure used as ribbon, and the collar of the shirt was used to make the fabric rose.

Black doily shirt with rosette brooch.

The challenge was met. I did spend more than 1 hour a day sewing, but it was lovely to have the challenge set to kick off some sewing for the kids. I will make 11 (almost 12) year old something these school holidays… so she won’t miss out.

I’m going to be holidays too, so …. I have scheduled some things for your enjoyment and inspiration.

Enjoy!

Ally <‘v’>

5 Responses to “Challenge Day 4, 5 and 6”

  1. Taire said

    I LOVE that black doily shirt!

    man i love that black doily shirt!

  2. allysonadeney said

    Hey Taire, Nice to ‘met’ you… and thanks!
    Ally

  3. Steph said

    You inspire me so BADLY… I was busy sewing over the weekend too… Bikini’s and boxers to precise… Hehehe

    Xo Steph

  4. Erica said

    I adore that first dress, how adorable is the Debbie Mumm fabric!! You are so creative!

  5. […] Here is another made last year for 10 year old. […]

Leave a Reply

