Happy…..

August 24, 2010


happy
|ˈhapē|adjective ( -pier , -piest )

1 feeling or showing pleasure or contentment : Melissa came in looking happy and excited | [with clause ] we’re just happy that he’s still alive |[with infinitive ] they are happy to see me doing well.

• [ predic. ] ( happy about) having a sense of confidence in or satisfaction with (a person, arrangement, or situation) : I was never very happy about the explanation | I can’t say they looked too happy about it, but a deal’s a deal.

• [ predic. ] ( happy with) satisfied with the quality or standard of :I’m happy with his performance.

• [with infinitive ] willing to do something : we will be happy to advise you.

• (of an event or situation) characterized by happiness : we had a very happy, relaxed time.

• [ attrib. ] used in greetings : happy birthday.

• [ attrib. ] fortunate and convenient : he had the happy knack of making people like him.

2 [in combination ] informal inclined to use a specified thing excessively or at random : our litigation-happy society.

PHRASES (as) happy as a clam ( at high tide) extremely happy. happy hunting ground a place where success or enjoyment is obtained.

[ORIGIN: originally referring to the optimistic hope of American Indians for good hunting grounds in the afterlife.]

DERIVATIVES happiness |ˈhøpin1s| nounORIGIN Middle English (in the sense [lucky] ): from the noun hap + -y 1

Why am I telling you this?

I have been tagged, by the ever happy Steph, to tell you the ten things that make me happy.

I must tell you though, before I start, that there are two words that I think we overuse in the english vocabulary at the moment. One of them… obviously is happy and the other one is deserve.

I will save that rant for another day….  phew! …. I hear you all happily sigh.

  1. I am a child of God….. and that I did nothing to deserve it.
  2. My husband coming home at random times of the day with a coffee for me.
  3. Watching/helping my kids learn a new skill.
  4. A close game of Rugby or Basketball.
  5. The house with the red door on my walk to school.
  6. The magnolia trees in blossom.
  7. The park at the back of my house.
  8. A good book…and time to read it.
  9. Freedom.
  10. Creating things.

Now…. who do I want to tag?

Cathy

Ali

Nicole

Stuart and Suzanne

Chris

If anyone else (especially non-bloggers) want to share the 10 things that make them happy, that would be great too.

4 Responses to “Happy…..”

  1. Mel said

    Blogworld makes me happy :-) Finding inspiration in other bloggers’ work, identifying with their feelings and discoveries, giggling at their clever writing, learning from them – and being able to chat away on my own blog – these things enrich my life and make me happy :-)

  2. Therese said

    Thanks for sharing this, Ally :)
    Encouraging!!

  3. Ha! Finally got to it. Now, the wardrobe one…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 559 other followers

