Steph’s ‘Ultimate Custom Made Purse’

July 17, 2010

The latest harrysdesk upcycled commission.

Back in September last year, my friend Steph presented me with a challenge…. to make the Ultimate Custom Made Purse… or the UCMP as she liked to refer to it.

She gingerly handed me this sketch of what she wanted….

The sketch.....

….along with two ties she wanted included in the final purse….

.... the check...

...the wave..

Steph carefully listed the items she wanted to carry in her bag…. and since setting me with this formidable task, another friend has been added to the collection.

Yes, that is a Light Sabre and a playstation controller. Don't ask!

Liquorice, her ipad.

…………………………………………………..

I finished her bag just before the holidays, but wanted her to have it before I showed everyone else…hope you didn’t mind!

Steph came back to Sydney  on Monday for the Great Knit -In. I left the finished bag on the book shelf and waited. It didn’t take long for her to notice it…. “ooohh nice!” she crooned….. and then  “Oh Oh OH that’s MINE! That’s MY bag!”

Her hands and fingers were twitching at her chest eager to hold it. “Can I touch it? (Squeals and hand clapping)”

“Yes Steph….. it’s yours!” I said calmly.

It’s a very fun bag. It’s a very Steph bag. I know she will enjoy it….. and now I can share it with you too.

Front with removable rosette, zippered coin pocket and light sabre loop.

Front close-up..... buttons and zippers of every colour.

the back...

The side... removable zipper long strap, side rosettes and more buttons!

The other side....

Inside zippered pocket, and more buttons for no other purpose than entertainment!

More hidden pockets (and buttons) on the other side.

9 Responses to “Steph’s ‘Ultimate Custom Made Purse’”

  1. Javiera said

    That is the coolest bag I have ever seen… Can you make me one?

  2. Steph said

    thank you x forever! you know i totally love my UCMP it really rocks!! And NO ONE will ever have one like it which just makes me happy as no one is just like me!! I have taken photos with Bubbles help this afternoon and hope to return to blog land to share it with my friends this week. I have shared it on FB of course!!

    we’ll be back in Sydney tomorrow to see Disney On Ice!! Woohoo!! Father In Laws shout!!

    Xo Steph

  3. […] Steph has put together a post about her bag. […]

  4. Eileen said

    What a wonderful bags! It’s just full of surprises – everywhere you look, there’s something to delight.

    • allysonadeney said

      Yes Eileen,
      Steph is a girl full of surprises.
      I tried to have her bag be as much like her as possible.
      She’s a colourful character, and just when you think you have seen every quirky detail…. you come across another!
      Everyone in the world should have a friend in their friend pile.
      Ally

      • Steph said

        ALLY! You are so beautiful!! Those are some seriously excellent words about lil’ me… *tears welling up* you are very special to me too… You know that!?

        Xo Steph

  5. […] you missed it you can check out the original post with more photos here and on Steph’s […]

Leave a Reply

