Three bags in three days: BAG 3- The large Humbug

June 23, 2010

the large humbug... or should I call it the humbag!

It will hold all those things you need.

Zippered closure.

Some of you might be familiar with the humbug. It is a well loved bag shape, appearing on the etsy treasury page, and it is actually the one I am using at the moment.

With it’s deceptively large volume, I can carry everything without choosing or being worried about anything falling out.

This one is a little different to the ones linked, in that it is larger, has more internal pockets and I have lengthened and elasticised the strap.

It can be worn over the shoulder or across the body, and this one is excellent for carrying over pram or stroller handles, so would make a great nappy bag.

The idea for the Humbug first came from this tutorial for lolly bags. True! Yes my mind does work in mysterious ways.

one side.....

and the other....

the base

The base is shaped to sit without falling over, and I have given it corner buttons to prolong the life of the fabric on the base. The buttons just lift it off the ground a little, which keeps it from getting worn or dirty.

Inside there are almost invisible pen keepers, a zippered pocket, and an open top pocket for easy access. There is also a spot to clip your keys (if you are organised enough for this!)

...zippered pocket and pen and key keepers.

other side open pocket....

Just in case you haven’t read carefully, I didn’t make these three bags in three consecutive days, just showed them to you in three consecutive days. I am still looking after my kids, loving my husband, sleeping, reading and generally living.

Just thought I had better say…….

Leave a Reply

