Thrifty Tuesday Tutorial: Top 5 thrifty ideas my mum taught me.

September 22, 2009

This tutorial is a little more like the ones I had at uni…. and maybe yours were like this to.

I give you the information, and you work out how to use it.

1: Turn the lights off…… usually accompanied by the tag line…..”It’s not Piccadilly Circus!”

2: If you are cold put on a jumper. (Sometimes even if Mum was cold we had to put on a jumper….she had TCS)

3: Only cook as much as you need. Sorry Mum I ignore this one frequently….but would save me money if I did.

4: Cut the buttons off everything you are throwing in the bin. I slavishly obey this one.

5: Money will not burn a hole in your pocket…..really?…..really.

A small selection of saved buttons.

A small selection of saved buttons.

4 Responses to “Thrifty Tuesday Tutorial: Top 5 thrifty ideas my mum taught me.”

  1. Ali said

    I’m looking forward to using that line about Picadilly circus!

    Sadly, I think I have thrown out a lot of buttons (though they might have gone to a good cause at Vinnies – and wouldn’t be much use without their buttons).

  2. Rachael said

    The problem with only cooking as much as you need is that you don’t have leftovers to give huge plates of food to the people who turn up at your door all night long. I’ve yet to learn the art of this, but have been the recipient of it many a time here in Vanuatu.

    It’s not thrifty.

Leave a Reply

