“I hacked an Ikea cupboard and you can too” photo tutorial.

September 1, 2012

Has everyone one in Sydney received there Ikea catalogue in the post?

Exciting times!

This is the first time in 7 years since we have had one delivered, so it’s all pretty amazing.

I love seeing how ideas are styled together more than I like buying things…. which is great and very cheap enjoyment.

Before the catalogue arrived, however, I did purchase ANEBODA, for a linen cupboard.

The beauty of the Aneboda is the $89 price tag, the down side (and the thing that has meant I haven’t purchased it before now) is the ugly see-through plastic panels on the doors.

No doubt this keeps the price low, but ….really…. this is the best option?

Anyway….

I decided to hack the cupboard so I could enjoy it both for it’s price and it’s appearance.

…. and I’ve included a quick tutorial so you can too. There is no sewing required!

What you will need 

  • glue gun and glue
  • cardboard (I used the box the flat pack came in)
  • about 1/2 m of fabric. (if it is wide enough) otherwise approx 2m of fabric

How to do it.

1. Measure carefully the plastic section of the cupboard door you want to cover. Using the cardboard that the cupboard came in cut 2 rectangles the same size as your measurements minus .5cm in the length and width of each piece.

2. Lay the cardboard pieces down on ironed fabric. I choose stripes….. (I purchased this from Ikea too) and cut around the cardboard leaving about 5cm turnover on all sides. If you are using a changing stripe (like this) or a fabric with a large and obvious repeat…. this is the time to make sure the pieces are cut with this in mind.

3. Using a glue gun (or similar) pull the fabric tightly around the cardboard and glue down. Do this to both sides.

4. Again using the glue gun…. glue panel straight onto the plastic panel in the door.

close up.

5. Repeat for other door panel.

6. Wha-la. Enjoy your much more spunky cupboard for about $5 extra.

 

8 Responses to ““I hacked an Ikea cupboard and you can too” photo tutorial.”

  1. Nice idea and it came out great. Nice post, stop by and say hi :)

  2. This is an amazing hack! I love the fabric choice.

  3. Priscilla said

    I love the idea, but how does the Aneboda wardrobe work as a linen cupboard? The IKEA link says it has only one shelf and then hanging space – don’t you need more shelves?

  4. Sara said

    Hello. I was thinking of buying the Aneboda wardrobe and using decorative Contact paper to cover the windows. Can you tell me the dimensions of the windows so I can price out the pre-cut contact paper? It would be really helpful. Thanks!

    • ally adeney said

      Hi Sara, THe panels each measure approx. 20cm x 146cm, and you will need 2 strips. Hope that helps. Ally

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 559 other followers

