Artmaking Part 1

August 4, 2012

Thanks to everyone who gave me feedback on where to start creating again.

These are some shots from the classes so far.

I was a bit out of practise and unsure so I spent some time sketching, using the inspiration you all suggested.

This is what the first week produced.

This image from decor8 became…..

…. became this pencil sketch.

Image from the house of turquoise became……

…. this very ‘not really convincing’ pencil sketch.

I cropped the image from decor8 to become……

….. this little A3 collage (brown paper with ‘pencil paper’, charcole ad pencil. I am quite pleased with this one.

During the making of the collage I put a sheet of graphite carbon paper underneath as I worked. This was the result. Interesting as every mark comes out the same colour.

This image from ‘the bottom of my ironing basket’……

…..became this pencil ‘hatching’. Surprising myself a little by how much I enjoyed making this. I am pleased with the result.

During the second week I developed a couple of these ideas.

Using the pears and pomegranate I worked with crumpled handmade paper, collagecross hatching, ink, pencil and stitching to start creating an artwork. It will take a while to finish….. lots of stitching to come.

The beginning of the A1(ish) work.

I have decided to keep an online visual art diary with another blog. It’s called ‘Art is cheaper than therapy’

If you would like to follow along with the creations, that is the place to go.

I will link to it occasionally, and it will be purely notes and pictures.

I would love and welcome any feedback via comments….. even negative ones.

See you soon when you can help me decide where to go next.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 559 other followers

